What I learned from golf: The little things

golf

Photo Credit

Golfing should be easy. You hit a ball with a club towards a hole in the ground. I thought it would be that simple when I began golfing 6 years ago, but I quickly realized there is a reason athletes get paid millions and millions of dollars to complete this simple task; it’s harder than it looks.

Golf is a huge part of my life. It’s a way to blow off steam, enjoy a nice day outside, and even get some exercise. But once I made the decision to try to master the sport, it became much more challenging. The number of challenges a golfer faces on a single shot is mind-boggling. The entire body needs to work in perfect harmony; the hips turning as the shoulders rotate, the hands rolling over at the perfect speed, the perfect angle of approach needs to be achieved, as well as thousands of other variables need to happen simultaneously to produce the perfect shot. And that is just one shot. After factoring in the fact that there are, on average (my average at least) 4 or 5 shots per hole, with 18 holes per round, the chances of making at least a couple mistakes per round is very high.

All this means one thing; golf is not about hitting the ball into a hole. It is about executing a series of shots to hit the ball into the hole, and then doing it 17 more times. Golf isn’t one goal, it is a series of goals, and only the little victories each step of the way can lead to desired results.

All golfers have different aspects of their swing they need to improve on, and every golfer is different, so I can’t write a blog about “the universal swing” as has been attempted before. There are thousands of golf tips available online, many of which I have watched. Instead I want to focus on one single little goal I set for myself a while ago; keep my head down.

Yes, this may be the most basic tip for any new golfer, but without achieving this little victory every single swing, you will never be the golfer you are capable of being. When I began golfing, my swing was incredibly inconsistent, but I still made sure to keep my head down. I have achieved that little victory, which led to habit, and now I never lift my head up. Isolating that one aspect of my swing helped me to master one tiny part of the whole puzzle, and I now continue to identify little goals I can achieve to keep my confidence up and my swing improving.

Golf may not be “your thing,” I understand. But I encourage you to subscribe to my blog (by clicking the “Follow” button to the right) where I will regularly highlight the power of the little victory, and hopefully help you identify the little victories in your life.

 

Leave a Reply

