Fitness: Getting Started

fitness

Photo Credit

Some people have no problem staying in shape. They have no problem hitting the gym daily, going on runs, doing yoga, etc. I am not one of those people. I am one of the people who constantly set my alarm for 6:30 am to get to the gym before work, yet continuously hit the snooze button. So when I recently decided it’s time to get back into shape, I had difficulty getting started. After weeks, I was finally able to develop a strategy that not only would help me get back into shape, but one that I could actually follow. I realized my expectations weren’t realistic. Muscle wasn’t going to develop over night, and fat wasn’t going to just fall off. I realized I needed to set reasonable, short term goals. This concept grew on me, and led me to dedicating my blog to it. For any goal I try to achieve, the little victories along the way lead to success.

Now, back to getting in shape. My original goal; to get in shape, was never going to work for me. It wasn’t real. It wasn’t something I could see, or even aspire to. So my next step was to define the goal; I want to lose 20 pounds. This goal was more clear cut, but still wasn’t enough. This is when I really made a breakthrough. My first two goals were things I wanted, not things I could really control. So instead, I changed my goals so that I could pass or fail everyday.

My first new goal; drink at least 64 ounces of water per day. Now, this may seem fairly insignificant. Drinking water may not directly relate to weight loss, but it helped me stay alert and feeling healthy. Plus, this goal is something easily tracked, and something I can make sure to do everyday.

Second, I decided I needed to get 8 hours of sleep every night. Again, no direct relation to weight loss, but keeping my body happy kept me energized and fueled for the day. This goal was also very easily tracked and completed daily.

Finally, I decided to start an exercise program, the only goal I made that will directly affect my fitness. However, the presence of a daily program was exactly what I needed. I found that daily tracking was exactly what I needed. The little victory I achieve every time I complete a workout keeps me driven. Because I have experienced past success. I have proven to myself I can do it. The concept of success is no longer distant and unrealistic. I now know all I need is a series of little victories, which will lead me to where I need to go.

Leave a Reply

